[2/7] Revert "ACPI / OSI: Add OEM _OSI string to enable NVidia HDMI audio"

Submitted by Karol Herbst on Aug. 14, 2019, 9:31 p.m.

Details

Message ID 20190814213118.28473-3-kherbst@redhat.com
State New
Headers show
Series "Adding a proper workaround for fixing RTD3 issues with Nouveau" ( rev: 1 ) in Nouveau

Not browsing as part of any series.

Commit Message

Karol Herbst Aug. 14, 2019, 9:31 p.m.
This reverts commit 887532ca7ca59fcf0547a79211756791128030a3.

We have a better solution for this: b516ea586d717

And same as with the last commit: "NVidia Linux driver" that's Nouveau, any
out of tree driver does _not_ matter. And with Nouveau all of this works even
though it required a proper fix first, but we have that now.

Signed-off-by: Karol Herbst <kherbst@redhat.com>
CC: Alex Hung <alex.hung@canonical.com>
CC: Rafael J. Wysocki <rafael.j.wysocki@intel.com>
CC: Dave Airlie <airlied@redhat.com>
CC: Lyude Paul <lyude@redhat.com>
CC: Ben Skeggs <bskeggs@redhat.com>
---
 drivers/acpi/osi.c | 8 --------
 1 file changed, 8 deletions(-)

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/drivers/acpi/osi.c b/drivers/acpi/osi.c
index 9b20ac4d79a0..56cc95b6b724 100644
--- a/drivers/acpi/osi.c
+++ b/drivers/acpi/osi.c
@@ -53,14 +53,6 @@  osi_setup_entries[OSI_STRING_ENTRIES_MAX] __initdata = {
 	 * be removed if both new and old graphics cards are supported.
 	 */
 	{"Linux-Dell-Video", true},
-	/*
-	 * Linux-Lenovo-NV-HDMI-Audio is used by BIOS to power on NVidia's HDMI
-	 * audio device which is turned off for power-saving in Windows OS.
-	 * This power management feature observed on some Lenovo Thinkpad
-	 * systems which will not be able to output audio via HDMI without
-	 * a BIOS workaround.
-	 */
-	{"Linux-Lenovo-NV-HDMI-Audio", true},
 };
 
 static u32 acpi_osi_handler(acpi_string interface, u32 supported)