[libxcb,4/4] Add an AUTHORS file to recognize XCB authors

Submitted by Gaetan Nadon on March 27, 2014, 2:15 a.m.

Details

Message ID 1395886522-9793-1-git-send-email-memsize@videotron.ca
State New
Headers show

Commit Message

Gaetan Nadon March 27, 2014, 2:15 a.m.
List obtained from the ChangeLog

Signed-off-by: Gaetan Nadon <memsize@videotron.ca>
---
 AUTHORS     |   73 +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
 Makefile.am |    1 +
 2 files changed, 74 insertions(+)
 create mode 100644 AUTHORS

Patch hide | download patch | download mbox

diff --git a/AUTHORS b/AUTHORS
new file mode 100644
index 0000000..50d1349
--- /dev/null
+++ b/AUTHORS
@@ -0,0 +1,73 @@ 
+Aaron Plattner <aplattner@nvidia.com>
+Adam Jackson <ajax@redhat.com>
+Alan Coopersmith <alan.coopersmith@oracle.com>
+Arnaud Fontaine <arnau@debian.org>
+Arvind Umrao <arvind.umrao@oracle.com>
+Bart Massey <bart@cs.pdx.edu>
+Bob Ham <rah@bash.sh>
+Carlos Garnacho <carlosg@gnome.org>
+Carsten Meier <cm@trexity.de>
+Chí-Thanh Christopher Nguyễn <chithanh@gentoo.org>
+Christian König <christian.koenig@amd.com>
+Christoph Pfister <christophpfister@gmail.com>
+Christoph Reimann <oss@arcor.de>
+Colin Walters <walters@verbum.org>
+Daniel Martin <consume.noise@gmail.com>
+Daphne Pfister <daphnediane@mac.com>
+David Coles <dcoles@gaikai.com>
+Diego 'Flameeyes' Pettenò <flameeyes@gentoo.org>
+Donnie Berkholz <spyderous@gentoo.org>
+Eamon Walsh <efw@eamonwalsh.com>
+Eamon Walsh <ewalsh@tycho.nsa.gov>
+Egbert Eich <eich@freedesktop.org>
+elupus <elupus@ecce.se>
+Eric Anholt <anholt@FreeBSD.org>
+Eric Anholt <eric@anholt.net>
+Gaetan Nadon <memsize@videotron.ca>
+Henning Sten <henning.sten@yahoo.com>
+Ian Osgood <iano@quirkster.com>
+James Jones <jajones@nvidia.com>
+Jamey Sharp <jamey@id.minilop.net>
+Jamey Sharp <jamey@minilop.net>
+Jeetu Golani <jeetu.golani@gmail.com>
+Jeremy Huddleston <jeremyhu@apple.com>
+Jeremy Kolb <jkolb@brandeis.edu>
+Jeremy Kolb <jkolb@glorfindel.hsd1.ma.comcast.net>
+Jim Ingram <ingramj@gmail.com>
+Jon TURNEY <jon.turney@dronecode.org.uk>
+Josh Triplett <josh@joshtriplett.org>
+Julien Cristau <jcristau@debian.org>
+Julien Danjou <julien@danjou.info>
+Keith Packard <keithp@keithp.com>
+Kenneth Graunke <kenneth@whitecape.org>
+Marc Deslauriers <marc.deslauriers@canonical.com>
+Marcin Kościelnicki <koriakin@0x04.net>
+Mark Kettenis <kettenis@openbsd.org>
+Markus Duft <mduft@gentoo.org>
+Matthias Hopf <mhopf@suse.de>
+Michael Ost <most@museresearch.com>
+Michael Stapelberg <michael@stapelberg.de>
+Nick Bowler <nbowler@draconx.ca>
+Oswald Buddenhagen <ossi@kde.org>
+Patrick Caulfield <patrick@tykepenguin.com>
+Pauli Nieminen <ext-pauli.nieminen@nokia.com>
+Paulo R. Zanoni <pzanoni@mandriva.com>
+Peter Harris <peter.harris@hummingbird.com>
+Peter Harris <pharris@opentext.com>
+Peter Hutterer <peter.hutterer@who-t.net>
+Petr Salinger <Petr.Salinger@seznam.cz>
+PHO <pho@cielonegro.org>
+Rami Ylimäki <rami.ylimaki@vincit.fi>
+Ran Benita <ran234@gmail.com>
+Rémi Cardona <remi@gentoo.org>
+Rémi Denis-Courmont <remi.denis-courmont@nokia.com>
+Rémi Denis-Courmont <remi@remlab.net>
+Ryan Pavlik <rpavlik@iastate.edu>
+Samuel Thibault <samuel.thibault@ens-lyon.org>
+Thomas Coppi <thisnukes4u@gmail.com>
+Thomas Hunger <hto@arcor.de>
+Tilman Sauerbeck <tilman@code-monkey.de>
+Uli Schlachter <psychon@znc.in>
+Vincent Torri <vtorri@univ-evry.fr>
+Yaakov Selkowitz <yselkowitz@users.sourceforge.net>
+Zephaniah E. Hull <warp@aehallh.com>
diff --git a/Makefile.am b/Makefile.am
index 2475b6e..ef0c41e 100644
--- a/Makefile.am
+++ b/Makefile.am
@@ -92,6 +92,7 @@  AM_TESTS_ENVIRONMENT = \
 TESTS=check-pc-requires
 
 EXTRA_DIST = \
+AUTHORS \
 tools/README \
 tools/api_conv.pl \
 tools/constants \

Comments

Josh Triplett March 27, 2014, 5:33 a.m.
On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:15:22PM -0400, Gaetan Nadon wrote:
> List obtained from the ChangeLog
> 
> Signed-off-by: Gaetan Nadon <memsize@videotron.ca>

Perhaps this file could be autogenerated like the ChangeLog?  (Also, the
duplication currently present in it suggests that we need a .mailmap
file.)

- Josh Triplett
Alan Coopersmith March 27, 2014, 5:44 a.m.
On 03/26/14 10:33 PM, Josh Triplett wrote:
> On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:15:22PM -0400, Gaetan Nadon wrote:
>> List obtained from the ChangeLog
>>
>> Signed-off-by: Gaetan Nadon <memsize@videotron.ca>
>
> Perhaps this file could be autogenerated like the ChangeLog?  (Also, the
> duplication currently present in it suggests that we need a .mailmap
> file.)

Something like:
	git log --format='%aN' | sort -u > AUTHORS
?

(or if you want e-mail addresses, --format='%aN <%aE>')
Josh Triplett March 27, 2014, 7:01 a.m.
On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:44:12PM -0700, Alan Coopersmith wrote:
> On 03/26/14 10:33 PM, Josh Triplett wrote:
> >On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:15:22PM -0400, Gaetan Nadon wrote:
> >>List obtained from the ChangeLog
> >>
> >>Signed-off-by: Gaetan Nadon <memsize@videotron.ca>
> >
> >Perhaps this file could be autogenerated like the ChangeLog?  (Also, the
> >duplication currently present in it suggests that we need a .mailmap
> >file.)
> 
> Something like:
> 	git log --format='%aN' | sort -u > AUTHORS
> ?
> 
> (or if you want e-mail addresses, --format='%aN <%aE>')

git shortlog can do this more easily:

git shortlog -ns | cut -f2- > AUTHORS

(-s serves the same function as the "sort -u", and the cut command
removes the commit counts that -s adds.)

- Josh Triplett
Alan Coopersmith March 27, 2014, 7:52 a.m.
On 03/27/14 12:01 AM, Josh Triplett wrote:
> On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:44:12PM -0700, Alan Coopersmith wrote:
>> On 03/26/14 10:33 PM, Josh Triplett wrote:
>>> On Wed, Mar 26, 2014 at 10:15:22PM -0400, Gaetan Nadon wrote:
>>>> List obtained from the ChangeLog
>>>>
>>>> Signed-off-by: Gaetan Nadon <memsize@videotron.ca>
>>>
>>> Perhaps this file could be autogenerated like the ChangeLog?  (Also, the
>>> duplication currently present in it suggests that we need a .mailmap
>>> file.)
>>
>> Something like:
>> 	git log --format='%aN' | sort -u > AUTHORS
>> ?
>>
>> (or if you want e-mail addresses, --format='%aN <%aE>')
>
> git shortlog can do this more easily:
>
> git shortlog -ns | cut -f2- > AUTHORS
>
> (-s serves the same function as the "sort -u", and the cut command
> removes the commit counts that -s adds.)

Ah, I'd looked at git shortlog, but missed the -s option and instead
went looking for format options to remove commit titles and found none.

That works for me, and even takes care of the multiple email address
merges, though we could still use .mailmap to clean up a couple
inconsistently spelled names.  (Would be nice to have a global mailmap
across all Xorg/xcb repos, but I don't want to figure out the git
magic to make that work myself.)
Gaetan Nadon March 27, 2014, 3:21 p.m.
On 14-03-27 03:52 AM, Alan Coopersmith wrote:
>> (-s serves the same function as the "sort -u", and the cut command
>> removes the commit counts that -s adds.)
>
> Ah, I'd looked at git shortlog, but missed the -s option and instead
> went looking for format options to remove commit titles and found none.
>
> That works for me, and even takes care of the multiple email address
> merges, though we could still use .mailmap to clean up a couple
> inconsistently spelled names.  (Would be nice to have a global mailmap
> across all Xorg/xcb repos, but I don't want to figure out the git
> magic to make that work myself.)
>
Do you want output sorted by number of commits (which do not appear) or
by authors name?
The latter would require 'git shortlog -s | cut -f2- > AUTHORS'. Sorting
by commit numbers will result in a file that is constantly (ok, often)
changing. Reading it to find a name is more difficult.

Should this be made available to all xorg modules in util/macros? I have
prototyped it.
The makefile would look like in participating modules (under no obligation):

    MAINTAINERCLEANFILES = ChangeLog INSTALL AUTHORS

    .PHONY: ChangeLog INSTALL AUTHORS

    INSTALL:
        $(INSTALL_CMD)

    ChangeLog:
        $(CHANGELOG_CMD)

    AUTHORS:
        $(AUTHORS_CMD)

    dist-hook: ChangeLog INSTALL AUTHORS


 1. In any case I need an rb line for COPYING which I believe is correct.

 2. If you elect for an AUTHORS file in git, I'll amend patch #4 with
    your choice of sorting

 3. If you elect for a util-macros implementation, I'll drop patch #4
    and submit new patches after this series has been dealt with.

Thanks for the review!